Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm

a

I recently purchased the boxed set of Dr.Jart+ beauty balms from Sephora.com when they were having the chic week sale.  This is the first beauty balm that I have tried from the collection and so far, it’s a keeper!

I normally use Smashbox’s beauty balm and even though I love that one, I also always love trying other brands as well.  I’m a big fan of Smashbox’s beauty balm because it offers great coverage which is very important to me.  I was concerned about whether or not this one would off the same coverage (or even enough coverage).  Turns out it does : )

I used this for the first time the other day and was pleasantly surprised with the results.  The consistency is creamy with a medium thickness.  It applies smoothly and does an excellent job at hiding imperfections as well as evening out skin tones.  It also feels moisturizing and left my face with a little bit of a fresh and dewy appearance (which I often like).

I did not reapply this at any point in the day and after an 8.5 hour workday it still seemed to be holding up pretty well.  It did wear off slightly around a couple of blemishes but it didn’t completely expose them.

The only downside to this product is that it comes in only one shade.  I feel like the shade it’s most suitable for is fair/light to light-medium.  It works for me now, but come summer when I actually have a tan (or start using sunless tanners again) I feel like it could be too light for me.  I did try dusting a little bit of bare minerals bronzer over top of it to see if I could adjust the color without it looking ridiculous and it turned out nice.  It toned down my bronzer a little (which I feel like can look too harsh otherwise) and in turn the bronzer gave it a little extra kiss of color.

I’m anxious to try out the other ones in the kit being that I liked this one so much!

 

Pros:

  • Long lasting
  • SPF 45
  • Medium coverage
  • Leaves face looking fresh and slightly dewy (not good if you prefer a matte finish)

Cons:

  • Only comes in one color….and it’s probably going to be too light come summer

 

One thought on “Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm

  1. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.

    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your
    useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

