Make Up Forever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation

1

Average Price: $36.00

I normally never use liquid foundations and generally just stick with powder/mineral foundations.  I have a wedding coming up that I am in and was on the search for a foundation that won’t budge over the course of the day or night.  After reading a lot of reviews, I picked this one from Make Up Forever.  Most of the reviews were great, all praising this products staying power, etc.

This product is supposed to be waterproof which was important for me because the weddings location is in a place that is often hot and humid, so I don’t want to take any chances of having my makeup “melt” off throughout the course of the day when the weather heats up.  It also boasts to control oil and shine and offers complete coverage with a powdery finish.

I decided to try this product out on a regular day to see how it held up.  I applied primer prior to applying this (Smashbox).  This foundation applied smoothly and easily.  I had a couple of small reddish blemishes that I wanted covered and after reading the reviews on this product, I figured it would get the job done.  I have to say, I was slightly let down.  It didn’t cover these blemishes in their entirely, as I had hoped it would.  Don’t get me wrong, it covered them to an extent, but not completely.  The reviews also made it seem like I wasn’t going to need to pair this product up with concealer, but that was not the case.  Pairing this up with concealer helped to conceal the blemishes but I was just hoping that this product alone would get the job done.  It does settle with a powdery matte finish.

I wore this over the course of a work day and by mid-afternoon, it was starting to wear off a little (especially around the blemishes).  This was also a let down because I wasn’t even in a hot and humid climate and the foundation started to wear off during the course of an  8 hour workday.  It did however control my face from having any oil or shine which I definitely liked.  (Great for those that suffer from T-Zone oils!)

I’m still going to give this a try on the wedding day but it definitely isn’t holding up to the extent of “greatness” I thought it would.  For day to day makeup, I’m sticking to my normal bare minerals foundation because I think it lasts about the same length and also controls oil and shine (and I think it covers blemishes better).  So on the day of the wedding, I will apply a light dusting of bare minerals over top the Make Up Forever foundation just for added security and staying power.

 

Pros:

  • Waterproof
  • Applies smoothly and evenly
  • Controls oil and shine

Cons:

  • Doesn’t cover blemishes entirely
  • Wears off over the course of the day
Leave a Reply

